A Look Back

I’m looking back to spring 2020. It’s March 15. I’m not really watching Andrew Cuomo yet. But I am holding my breath. The city is about to shut down. And I have lost control of my apartment.

I am messy. It’s SO easy to get out of control. At this point, it has been months, a year, actually, now that I think about it, since Kate Dowling and I had packed up a storage room and a half of stuff that wasn’t mine and I didn’t need. But I can still slip up and get messy.

It takes discipline. And you have to make a habit of it. And today, as I watch Covid case numbers hit new highs across the nation, I realize there are certain similarities between managing Covid and managing tidiness. One, of course, is deadly, the other is not. But, with both, you can’t let up. Or else.

So here’s a look back at where New York was and where my apartment was, three and a half months ago. I’ve shown you a lot of the after photos, here are some of the befores. A realtor actually has these on his phone! March 15th was the night he came by for a quick look at the apartment and he took these shots. That’s when you really see what a mess your house is, when you see photos of it on someone else’s phone,.

So here are my true confessions before photos. And for the rest of this blog, I’m going to go back in time every once in a while and show you some of the overwhelming moments, just in case that’s what your life is now. Just so you know, you’re not in it alone.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started